Monday, May 29, 2017

Tour + Review: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn


Girl on the Verge
Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.
In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.
When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

REVIEW:
4 stars

Girl on the Verge was an interesting read. It surprised me because I really thought the main focus was going to be solely on Kan, and there is a focus on her, but there is such a huge focus on Shelly. I really enjoyed reading the story, it was full of action, suspense, and even a little romance.

The story was a little predictable. It was still a really great and enjoyable book, but the suspense was lacking a little for me, because it just wasn't always a surprise for me. There were some that I wasn't 100% positive about, but there were also things that I was pretty positive about.

All in all, I was very impressed with my first book by Pintip Dunn, and I cannot wait to read more by her. I would definitely recommend this book because it was such a great, and for me, a very quick read.

Author Bio:
Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.
Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel, FORGET TOMORROW, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella BEFORE TOMORROW.
She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at www.pintipdunn.com 

XBTBanner1

1 comment:

  1. Looks like a good book! Thank you for the contest!

    ReplyDelete